Read Time:1 Minute, 42 Second

The 2023 edition of the UEFA Europa League final will be contested between Sevilla and Roma, both of whom won the semi-finals on Thursday night.

Sevilla are already the record winners in the competition’s history, having lifted the trophy on at least six occasions (2006, 2007, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2020) and going for a seventh win.

Meanwhile, Roma last won it in 1961, when it was known as the Inter-Cities Fairs Cup – which eventually became the UEFA Cup and then Europa League, However, they are the current Europa Conference League holders.

Sevilla started this season in the Champions League but fell down after the group stage. Since then he has turned out PSV Eindhoven, Fenerbahce Manchester United and Juventus.

Read the latest Europa League news here

The semi-final against Juve was decided in extra time. The first leg in Turin had ended 1–1 after a 97th-minute equalizer from Federico Gatti. The return fixture in Spain was also 1–1 after 90 minutes, forcing extra time, during which Erik Lamela scored an early header to win it.

Roma Complete the last ‘Park the Bus’ mission to reach the finals. Jose Mourinho’s side took a 1-0 aggregate lead and headed to Germany to face Bayer Leverkusen looking set to retain it. Lorenzo Pellegrini’s wild shot after two minutes was his only effort in the whole game, compared to Leverkusen’s 15 attempts and eight other blocked shots.

As well as being a two-time Champions League-winning manager, Mourinho has won the competition twice before – in 2003 as Porto boss and in 2017 with Manchester United.

This season’s Europa League final will take place on 31 May 2023 at the Puskás Arena in Budapest. It is the first of three UEFA finals to be played, with the Europa Conference League final between West Ham and Fiorentina scheduled for 7 June and the champions. The league final which Manchester City face Inter will be played three days later on 10 June.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.